January 28, 2012

01/28/2012 21:41

 

Instead of writing something this month in the blog, I wanted to share with you a blog that I read recently. 

https://roadsfromemmaus.org/2012/01/12/why-i-love-true-religion-because-i-love-jesus/

I have been having some really good conversations with a couple of Greek Orthodox friends of mine who live in Boston, and we have been emailing one another our thoughts that were inspired by the video at the beginning of this blog and the comments that follow it. As three people who were born into the Orthodox faith, one of the things that we have been talking about is making sure that the traditions and rituals that we were born into have meaning and are done with faith and love. It is easy for a lot of us to feel like religion can be reduced to just going through the motions, which is why I think a lot of Coptic youth have connected with the video and feel like parts of it resonate with them. However, I think there is also danger to the claims made in the video because I have felt really blessed by so many of the traditions and sacraments that make up my religion, and rejecting those traditions is not the beginning of any real connection with God.

I have really enjoyed the conversation that has gone on with these friends for the last few weeks, and I would love to hear what you have to say as well! Email us at considerthelilies@googlegroups.com to let us know what you think and I would love to post them here!