September 21, 2012

09/21/2012 18:50

Hi everyone! I hope you're all doing well. I know it's been a pretty busy month for me so far... which led me to reflect on the business that we often experience as Christian women who are trying to do a lot. When I look at most of the women in my life, I see them juggling more than any person can handle. I don't know about your church, but mine is full of women who are servants, students, workers, mothers, and more... all at once. I don't know how they do it!

I am inspired by these women who do so much. But at the same time, God speaks against this kind of business when it means that we don't have time to enjoy His presence in our lives. We have the example of Mary and Martha (Luke 10:38-42) and Jesus Himself, who took time to rest and communicate with God on a regular basis.

This is still a struggle for me as well. My tendency is to want to be constantly doing things, and it's hard for me to take the time for stillness, reflection, and prayer that I so desperately need. But I am committed to working on it. At busy times like these, I am convicted of just how much I need to work on this.

I hope to hear from you on this issue! Do you have strategies that work for you as you try to make time for stillness in your life? Let us know!